Photo Corner

Winter in Thailand

By Kyle Buck

This year, Instead of going home for winter vacation, I went to Thailand! Here are some of the amazing things I saw while I was there.

First, it should be noted that when I went to Thailand, they were in a time of mourning over their recently deceased king.

He was a great man. Beloved by all and will be sorely missed.

He was a great man. Beloved by all and will be sorely missed.

Many official buildings had pictures of the king and black & white adornments around them.

Many official buildings had pictures of the king and black & white adornments around them.

Even this statue outside of the palace was decorated with black and white ribbons.

Even this statue outside of the palace was decorated with black and white ribbons.

Although not quite a ubiquitous as pictures of the king, there were many temples and shrines scattered all over Bangkok and the rest of Thailand. They add a lot of hidden beauty and show some of the unique culture that Thailand has to offer.

One of my favorite areas in Thailand was the historic city of Ayutthaya. Walking through the parks full of ancient buildings was a fantastic step back in time.

 

However, many people like to come to Thailand for the shopping and the food.

I ate sooo much Pad Thai while I was there.

I ate sooo much Pad Thai while I was there.

But I didn't get enough mango sticky rice.

But I didn’t get enough mango sticky rice.

The first McDonald's to open in Chiang Mai is in the middle of the famous night market.

The first McDonald’s to open in Chiang Mai is in the middle of the famous night market.

While you are in Thailand, I recommend going to an island. I went to Phi Phi while I was there and loved every minute of it!

Finally, the most unique experience I had on that trip was traveling to a small hill tribe village and meeting their elephants through an exchange program.

Here is the office for the elephant rescue workers that live in the village.

Here is the office for the elephant rescue workers that live in the village.

It was very interesting to meet and talk to a lot of local people.

It was very interesting to meet and talk to a lot of local people.

Our host family making dinner.

Our host family making dinner.

Finally, whatmany people come to see. Elephants!

Finally, what many people come to see. Elephants!

Feeding them was a lot of fun!

Feeding them was a lot of fun!

Finally, another thing that I though was really cool was that I kept seeing these big lizards all over the place. 

If you would like to check out more awesome photo spheres, you can find several that I took in Thailand here.

 

That’s it for this entry. Please share your best pictures of your winter vacation with us at goodmorningaomori@gmail.com

One thought on “Winter in Thailand

  1. Pingback: January Volume 2 – Good Morning Aomori

Leave a Reply

