MediaBug

Hata Motohiro

By Michael Diana

Happy new year to all of you! I hope you all had lovely winter breaks and are not too heartbroken to be back at work! I went to Bangkok and I think I narrowly missed another ALT at Wat Pho, just ships passing in the night, but that’s neither here nor there, is it. I’m sort of breaking one of my own rules today, showcasing a relatively famous artist, but bear with me. They’re my rules to break after all. Plus I thought I should introduce a male solo artist… though I don’t listen to many of those.

Hata Motohiro (vocals, guitar, lyrics, music)
b. 1980/10/11, making him a libra, I believe
Major debut: “Synchro,” 2006/11/18

In the last couple years Hata Motohiro has rocketed to stardom and now people actually know who he is thanks to his smash hit, “Himawari no Yakusoku,” featured in that one Doraemon movie. Everybody loved the song, everybody cried, wunderbar. However, he has in fact been signed to a major record label since 2006! Y’all slept on the first eight years of his career didn’t you. Not me tho, I’ve known about him since 2008, when someone I knew recommended some of his songs to me. I was in high school at the time, so to say Hata Motohiro and I have been through some things together would be… correct. Suffice it to say, I have a deep emotional connection to certain songs of his from the first five years of his career, which is why I’m featuring him now. If you’ve heard “Himawari no Yakusoku” then you probably have a decent idea of his style, though it’s not like he only sings ballads or anything.

Born in Miyazaki, his family moved to Kanagawa when he was in elementary school. In sixth grade he first picked up a guitar, and during his middle school years he started playing around with songwriting. He got a bit more serious in high school, and by the time he was 19 he was performing somewhat regularly. He signed to an indies record label and released one mini album in 2004, and then two years later signed with his current label/management. To date he’s released five full albums and 21 singles, and a smattering of other releases I don’t really want to count. In ten years he’s managed to do quite well for himself, and since he’s a pretty talented singer and songwriter, I’m glad he’s finally getting the recognition he deserves.

Here’s a picture with no context for your enjoyment:

OSUSUME

Ai

Asa ga Kuru Mae ni

Uroko

Synchro

Suisai no Tsuki

Metro・film

One thought on “Hata Motohiro

  1. Pingback: January Volume 2 – Good Morning Aomori

Leave a Reply

