Photo Corner

Mount Hachimantai

By Kyle Buck

I want to keep most of my posts about places in Aomori prefecture, but there is a place just south of us that has some amazing views. Hachimantai in Iwate prefecture is a place where nature has reclaimed some parts of civilization, while those who still live there have learned to coexist with their natural soundings.

Hachimantai is a small town nestled on the northern slopes of Mt. Iwate. It is known for its hot springs. However, I love it for its rolling mountains and wetlands.

There are quite a few ponds, streams, and swamps in this area.

There are also a lot of plants and animals.

Can you tell what I found here?

Can you tell what I found here?

How about now?

It’s a cute little Japanese Rat snake.

I also saw a bear!

I also saw a bear!

Hachimantai is also home to an abandoned mining town. Look for a future column about Matsuo mine.

Smokestacks in front of Mt. Iwate.

Smokestacks in front of Mt. Iwate.

 

Check out some of my photo spheres from this area here.

One thought on “Mount Hachimantai

  1. Pingback: Oct Vol 2 – Good Morning Aomori

Leave a Reply

