MediaBug

Boku dake ga inai machi: An anime worth the watch!

By Robert Kondo

Turn your heaters back on, curl yourself into a burrito, and continue to isolate yourself from the outside world because winter isn’t over yet!? The winter season of anime that is….(°ロ°)☝. All jokes aside, let’s talk anime!! (ง’̀-‘́)ง

Depth. For an anime to really leave a lasting impression on me it needs to have some sort of human element. Bring on the tension, deliver the drama, and, most importantly, flesh out the raw human emotion. Very few anime have ever won my heart (and my feels) in these ways, but I’m glad to say I have finally found another one worth bragging about: Boku dake ga inai machi or Erased.

The moment a friend recommend this anime, I fell head over heels for the concept and story. In fact, I enjoyed this anime so much I binged watched it in a single weekend (which isn’t all that impressive since only eleven episodes have been made so far). So, if you’re the type to wait for an anime to be completely over, just wait a few more weeks and then binge away! But for now, some real talk.

What makes this anime worth the watch? Without spoiling anything vital to the main plot, it’s a psychological fantasy thriller that tackles some very real societal issues. And don’t get too caught up on the fact I said fantasy, because there’s really only one fictional element that lends itself to the genre. This seinen (literally, “youth”) anime portrays elements of psychological and physical trauma/danger mixed with tangible emotional struggles, resulting in a very human and, at times, sad story.

Some notable examples of this method of storytelling can be found in anime such as Sword Art Online, Mirai Nikki, and Tokyo Ghoul. All of these anime are in my must-watch list because of the very same reasons I mentioned above. In order for me to invest time in a new anime I need to have some sort of initial emotional or human connection. Now, that’s not to say an anime needs to be excessively mature in order for it to tickle my fancy. Nor does the main character have to be male. Wolf Children (which I highly recommend!) is a prime example of an anime movie that had very subtle mature elements, an amazing female lead, and laid on the human element so hard it made me cry like a baby (don’t you dare make fun of my feels! (ಥ﹏ಥ)).

If you’re looking for a good anime to sink your teeth into, try any of the few I’ve talked about above! If you’re also thinking, “Robert, you literally told me nothing about this Erased anime other than the fact that you like it a lot and it’s geared towards young men,” then you’re completely correct! When I hear about an anime that is highly recommended, I like to dive into it blindly, allowing the first episode to dictate whether I invest my time in it or not.

We all have our own favorite types of anime and ways of watching them, but I say try it! If you haven’t already, don’t look for any background on this anime on Google, Wikipedia, or any anime review sites. Just search “Boku dake ga inai machi episode 1 subbed” and allow the story to take you away.  And if you’re disappointed, well…

ME –>(╯°□°)╯︵( .o.). <– YOU

…Naaaaaaaahhhh, but if you do hate this anime well

(☞゚∀゚)☞……. ┬─┬ノ( º _ ºノ)……..┬─┬ ︵ /(.□. ).

Thanks again for the readership and as always, (insert catchy tagline here ☜(゚ヮ゚☜)).

3 thoughts on “Boku dake ga inai machi: An anime worth the watch!

  1. Pingback: April 2016, Vol. 1: Ch-Ch-Ch-Ch-Changes – Good Morning Aomori

  2. Pingback: Boku dake ga inai machi: An anime worth the watch! #JHedzWorlD | JHedzWorlD

  3. Pingback: ‘Re: Zero’ is ‘Real’ and ‘Raw’ – Good Morning Aomori

Leave a Reply

