Northern Sweat

Excuses, Excuses! Pt.1 — NO TIME

By Sam Martin

How often do you find yourself saying things to make it easier to ignore a workout? Not even always excuses, sometimes just explanations. Lately I’ve been slacking on doing anything physical, and I’ve been feeling so lethargic because of it. It’s a vicious cycle… so let’s break it together!

0a935cb934d7f99ea6c69dbb8b2dd42e9fb6c4a52fd901c614f5fa299cb06096

No. Bad dog-brain. Gotta get up!!!

Every issue for the next couple of months, I’ll ask for your input on how to kick excuses to the curb. For this issue, I want you to think about how to beat the excuse “I JUST DON’T HAVE THE TIME.”

I know we get busy. Life is all about priorities and managing our energy as best we can. Things like injuries, relationships, emotions, or workloads can interfere with our motivation to go work out. Tell me how you beat that, specifically by sending me a physical activity that takes LESS THAN 30 MINUTES TO DO. Do you do yoga as soon as you wake up? Do you like to walk to school? Tell me what you do that isn’t so time-consuming that you want to give up before you start.

too-tired-to-workout

This baby is not sleeping. She’s sniff-testing her shoes before a run. Be like this motivated baby. Get moving.

To show you an example, our first submission comes from Head Editor Amanda Marcroft in Hachinohe. She writes,

I’m probably the least relaxed person in the ken and don’t really stick to a regular routine, but I use this site a lot to find new ideas. Many of them are under 30 minutes.

Personally, I want to try the Hellhound workout, but they all look fantastic for a quick get-moving motivation. My own under-30 workout will consist of planking for as long as I can hold it (spoiler: not long) or going for a run around the block after school. Any movement, any at all, is better than none!

I’ll compile your submissions in the next issue of Northern Sweat, and we’ll hopefully have a list of so many short workouts that we’ll be able to permanently bury the constant phrase, “I just don’t have the time.”

2d347b632c450404e95b9f82d0919290

Here lie my excuses, may they rest in peace while I go run around the block.

2 thoughts on “Excuses, Excuses! Pt.1 — NO TIME

  1. Pingback: March 2016, Vol. 2: Letter From the Editor – Good Morning Aomori

  2. Pingback: Excuses, Excuses! Things you can do in under 15 minutes. – Good Morning Aomori

Leave a Reply

