Aomori Spotlight

Sabra Keller

Interview by Peter Underwood

Some of you may have seen me walking around at SDC looking for people to shine the Aomori Spotlight on. Thanks to everyone I spoke to! Sabra Keller and I were grouped up together, and afterwards I asked her about her life on JET and a certain egg-based mascot…

Sabra Card
Why did you choose to join JET?
I wanted to get back to Japan somehow after college, and I was also interested in teaching. JET was a good way to do both of those things.
What do you hope to gain from your time on JET?
I’d like to improve my Japanese, figure out what I’m good at and what I need to work on, and decide what I should do after JET.
How long do you plan on staying in Japan?
I’m not sure, but at least one or two more years.
What extracurricular activities/hobbies do you participate in?
I take koto lessons and play taiko.
What are some things you like about Japan?
Safety, cute stationary, gudetama.
What are some things you like less about Japan?
Raw cabbage as “salad,” mayonnaise corn “pizza,” how expensive cheese is… Most if not all my dislikes are food related.

gude1
What do you miss the most from your hometown/country?
I miss my pets, my family, and cottage cheese. They have it here, but it’s really not the same.

What was it like growing up in your hometown?
I moved around a lot when I was younger so I don’t really have a home town. I’m not sure how to answer this question. I was in New England, so it was cold in autumn and winter. I mostly lived in small, quiet towns.

How do you feel about Aomori winters?
I grew up in a part of New England that gets a lot of snow in winter, so it honestly doesn’t faze me that much. I think if I had to shovel/drive in it I would feel differently.

What do you like so much about gudetama?

gudetama-sabra-spotlight

He’s a cute egg that unabashedly complains about the world. What’s not to love? I think a lot of what he says is what people want to say but are never able to, and he lets people express themselves without being held accountable for what they’re saying. Or something like that.

 

aomori-spotlight-would-you-rather-christmas

 

Watch Netflix or NHK?
Netflix. Unless if it’s New Year’s Eve, then it’s NHK all the way.

Ice Cream or Mochi?
What about ice cream mochi? [“I like the way you think” – Peter]

Do winter sports or snuggle under a kotatsu?
Oh man, this is a tough one. Sports? If you ask me this in two months I might or might not give you a different answer.

gude2
Wake up early, or sleep in?
Sleeeeeeep, unless I have to get up early for travel, because then it feels like I’m on an adventure.
gud3

 

Do you have a suggestion for someone you’d like to introduce to the wider community? Someone with an interesting story to tell? Or maybe you’d like to be interviewed yourself? Email goodmorningaomori@gmail.com and let us know!

One thought on “Sabra Keller

  1. Pingback: December 2015, Vol. 2 | Good Morning Aomori produced by Aomori AJET

Leave a Reply

