Aomori Spotlight

Santa Claus

Interview by Chris Simmons

Many people believe that Santa-san lives in the North Pole, but he actually resides in the snowy hills of Aomori.  Let’s see what else we can find out about everyone’s favorite sleigh rider.

aomori_spotlight_santa_ajectcard

Why did you choose to live in Aomori prefecture?
Everyone knows how much I love snow, and the North Pole’s got nothin’ on Aomori.  Plus polar bears are jerks.  

aomori_spotlight_santa_pic3

Do you participate in any clubs  or extracurricular activities/hobbies?
In my spare time I enjoy judging children and break-dancing.  I also spend a lot of time growing my beard.

What are a few things you like about Japan?
The population density here makes my job a lot easier.

aomori_spotlight_santa_pic1

What are a few things you dislike about Japan?
The lack of chimneys can be a bit frustrating.  And what is with all the individually wrapped cookies?  JUST GIVE ME THE WHOLE BOX!

What do you miss the most from your hometown/country?
Well, I don’t exactly have a “hometown,” as I am mix of legends and traditions from various countries.  But much of my current Western image was derived from the celebration of St. Nicholas Day in the Netherlands.  SinterKlaas is actually the dutch pronunciation of St. Nickolas which is how I came to be known as Santa Claus.  What I miss the most is the tradition of stuffing naughty children into sacks and delivering them to Spain. Those were the good old days.

aomori_spotlight_santa_pic2

Do you have any interesting or embarrassing stories about adjusting to Japanese culture?
I once got my sleigh stuck in a “Gaijin trap,” and everyone gave me a really hard time about it.  Let it go, Rudolph!  I’m like a thousand years old… it was dark…  and who designed those roads anyway?!

Do you have any plans for winter vacation?
I will be working my butt off until December 26th.  After that, I am taking Mrs. Claus on a vacation in Hawaii to sip Mai Tais and check out the bikinis.

 aomori-spotlight-would-you-rather-christmas

be left milk or cookies?  Stupid question.  They go together…  always.

travel or relax at home?  I love traveling and have been all over the globe.  My next stop is Mars.  

wear boxers or briefs?  Ha!  Straight commando…  all day, err day.

Hit the club or the pub?  TURN DOWN FOR WHAT!

One thought on “Santa Claus

  1. Pingback: GMA Spotlight – Good Morning Aomori

Leave a Reply

