Aomori Spotlight

Ken Matsuyama

Interview by Chris Simmons

GMA decided to stick around Mutsu again this week to meet Ken Matsuyama. Ken doesn’t leave the “Axe” of Aomori very often, so most of you probably haven’t met him. But now’s your chance!

Aomori Spotlight - Ken ajetCard

Why did you choose to join JET?
I wanted to get in touch with my Japanese roots.  JET was the perfect opportunity for me to enjoy Japan.

What are your plans after JET?
After JET I’m thinking about getting into the film industry.

Aomori Spotlight - Ken pic4

Do you participate in any clubs  or extracurricular activities/hobbies?
I help coach a lot of speech contest participants.  I think that is where my drama background really helps the students.  I also spend far too much time making my hair look like I just rolled out of bed.

What are a few things you like about Japan?
I love the food and people, but my favorite thing is the variety shows on TV.  Famous people are just so awesome.

Aomori Spotlight - Ken pic1

What are a few things you dislike about Japan?
It’s not really specific to Japan, but I can’t seem to sit properly… ever.  I guess I’m just a little eccentric.

Aomori Spotlight - Ken pic3

What do you miss the most from your hometown/country?
Definitely cricket matches.  It’s just something you can’t experience in Japan.

Do you have any interesting or embarrassing stories about adjusting to Japanese culture?
Having Japanese parents, I am pretty used to the culture.  However, there have been a few times where people mistake me for some famous Japanese celebrity.  Who is this “L” character anyway?

Aomori Spotlight - Ken pic2

Do you have any plans for Golden Week?
I’m going to awkwardly sit around all day eating junk food and watching dramas.

Aomori Spotlight - Ken pic5

2 thoughts on “Ken Matsuyama

  1. Pingback: Mystery Man – Winner and answers | Japan life in pictures and words

  2. Pingback: April 2014, Vol. 1 | Japan life in pictures and words

Leave a Reply

